Home > Featured, Marketing, Media > “Like Shangri-la Facebook page”

“Like Shangri-la Facebook page”

That was what Prof told us to do in class.

Most of us did. I did.

The Facebook page looks like a mini corporate website, albeit, it is more interactive and informal.  Web in Travel writes about Shangri-la’s venture into social media and its promotion on Facebook.  So the draw for us to “like” the page is that we get a free birthday lunch buffet! (: No Singaporean will say no to food and to free stuff.

A Shangri-la guest uploaded this onto the Facebook page

I was asked recently where I prefer as a consumer to receive information; or more specifically which channel do I think is most effective for me. I leave my laptop switched on for almost 24 hours. (It is a terrible thing to do, but I’m waiting for my laptop to die, dignified that it has served me well and to the fullest). I have my iPhone and internet on-the-go and given how obsessed I am with checking emails, always waiting for THE EMAIL to appear, really, if  you want to grab my attention, Facebook is the channel.  And another channel will be out-of-door; something that is weaved into my daily life… say, on the MRT trains.

like the “The Silk Pro Hair Thinning Series”…

I don’t like it but I remember it.

Is that where the landscape of advertising is moving into? Social media and activation? (Silk Pro is not an example of activation, by the way.) At least I think it is.

I signed up for an account with Weibo which is the Chinese version of Twitter. I find it better than Twitter. I don’t “tweet” there but it offers me  for me to take a sneek peek into the lives of the Chinese celebrities.  (; I wondered initially why in the world did these celebrities who claimed to cherish privacy more than anything else jump onto the bandwagon of social media.

a) they are really normal beings like every one of us who wants to share their thoughts and musings

b) another channel to promote their music/movie/ tryst/romance? why not?

c) so that the mentions of their names will take on a multiplier effect. journalists from tabloid papers pick up every little thing they post and spin a tale out of it.

b) oh and the most heartwarming reason of all, so that they can connect to the fans who care and adore them on a more intimate level… aw.

Categories: Featured, Marketing, Media
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment