Andrew from comms and smube said something how it is good to rewrite entries during my q & a session. Indeed! (: I reflected and my professor had a point. My presentation sorely lacked transitions. I took a totally different route so it seemed more like a speech than a structured, typical presentation with the purpose explicitly stated out and with like “firstly, secondly, thirdly” something that my prof suggested when I asked her for more feedback. Anyway, I didn’t fail or do too badly! (: I seemed to have overreacted ah in the last entry. It was just not up to my expectations (no A la.)  and when I invested a lot of personal hmm, shall I say, examples and beliefs… Those who vetted my script would know. There are things I wouldnt have included but I did in the end because I really believe in it and its relevance.

Regarding nobody taking the initiative to help me, the class probably thought there was something wrong with the video rather than with the system or they thought it was rude to interject my presentation. Ben Tan said” smu is the epitome of selfish and insular Singaporeans”. haha. I do have friends who helped me to click, vet my script and rehearse with me! Whatever it is, I think I handled it deftly and it taught me an important lesson. Although I did rehearse in a seminar room the day before and everything ran smoothly during rehearsal, I should not have assumed that everything had been set for us properly. I am now inspired to master the “control panel” fully so that in future if any of my classmates need any help, I will rush forward to offer my assistance! ;)

On a brighter note! Caryn- my classmate who peer-evaluated me for comms came up to me during our FA break said that she was really persuaded by me and that among all the presentations, she still can remember what I presented! Despite the technical glitch, she said she really felt it.  (: I am delighted that I have at least made an impact on her! I think people… continue to bewilder and surprise me. I never thought of Caryn encouraging me… I think it was really nice of her!

My presentations are finally all over! How I hope this signifies the end of the term! I had barely two hours of sleep this morning before I had to rush to school for LTB presentation. I must say, I am really proud of my team! We… SURVIVED. (: Ours was the most emo emo. I am glad we were frank with one another! During q & a, prof said, “I think you would make a good TA.” I was surprised… and flattered. Maybe it is a sign I should hit ‘reply’.  (: 

 I bought Mr Teo Aik Cher’s book! He is one of my favourite teachers in VJC! I am going to get his autograph when I visit VJ. The words in his book HAUNT ME. It is about procrastination.  His drawings are really cute too.

  1. jiejun
    March 28, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    yay dear! you are happy!

    i cant wait for school to end! i am really so uptight and unhappy these days! Can we plan for a trip overseas? i need to take the aeroplane! it’s been eons since i taken one. and i wanna get outta singapore! so many things to run away from! hahaha.

    anywayy, since when did mr teo write a book? HAHA. i like him too! he’s a very encouraging GP teacher! i like it when he marks my GP script and tell me where i should improve.

    hugs dear! i miss you pple! :(

  2. siying
    March 29, 2008 at 6:03 am

    His book is called “Why Procrastinate?”. yeah! He always made an effort to go to every student in my class to tell us about our mistakes and to encourage us! I also want to run away from Singapore. shall we go bangkok? or go some island island place like Bintan or Redang Island! (: My sis is planning a redang trip with her friends… take bus to msia. She was asking me whether I have friends who wanna go… then can share the coach together… I feel like going to Taiwan too! hmmm. ;) we can plan but must be quite budget one cos I am already going for a Business study mission this summer. I’ll be meeting the vj choir girls before sx’s concert and I shall check with them… so exciting. if we decide to go, must really PLAN ah. ;) loveeee. i miss you too!

  3. March 30, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    yay your presentations are over! can heave a sigh of relief, haha. mine are far from over but oh well. take care okay! <3

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment